Division of Child Support Services


Division of Child Support Services

Child Support Services offers programs to help parents and guardians receive the financial and emotional support they need to help kids succeed. When providing Child Support services all Federal and State laws are followed.

Services include:

  • Establishing child support and medical (health insurance) orders
  • Collecting, distributing and enforcing child support payments
  • Changing child support orders
  • Locating parents
  • Establishing parentage

Apply Online for Child Support Services

The Colorado Child Support Services (CSS) Program has launched a streamlined application that's available 24/7 - apply online anywhere, anytime. Get started today.

About the Child Support Services Program:

CSS oversees the state’s child support system. Individual child support orders are managed by Colorado’s county child support offices. You can find many helpful services on the CSS website including:

  • Applying for child support services
  • How to create an online account to view specific information on your child support case
  • How and when to request changes to a child support order
  • Different ways to make and receive child support payments
  • Frequently asked questions about child support in Colorado

Visit the CSS website.




Establishing Child Support

Child Support Establishment

For the Child Support Services program to establish an order, you will need:

  • Valid Colorado ID
  • Completed application (a $20 fee may apply)
  • Proof of monthly income
  • Birth Certificates
  • Social Security Cards for all household members
  • Daycare verification

Our office will establish paternity (legally establish the father of the child) if necessary, establish a child support order and a medical support order. Either the custodial or non-custodial party may apply for our services.

During the interview, the legal technician will review the application and decide if any additional information is required.


Child Support Enforcement

If you already have a child support order, you may contact our office to enforce that order for you. You will need:

  • Valid Colorado ID
  • Completed application (a $20 fee may apply)
  • Copy of your most recent child support order and supporting court documents
  • Social Security cards for all members of the household
  • Copy of payments made by the non-custodial party or received by the custodial party

Enforcing the child support order may include:

  • Income withholding
  • Driver’s license suspension for non-payment
  • Suspension of professional, occupational and recreational licenses for non-payment
  • Seizing of bank accounts for non-payment
  • Interception of tax refunds, Workman’s Compensation Benefits, Unemployment Compensation Benefits, gambling and lottery winnings
  • Placing liens on personal and real property
  • Credit Bureau reporting for non-payment
  • Legal actions

Child Support Payments

  • If you work regularly, a Notice of Income Assignment will be sent to your employer
  • Payments are made directly to the Family Support Registry
  • Automatic withdrawals from your bank are scheduled
  • Check or Money Order should be made payable to Las Animas County Department of Human Services
  • Pay by phone is an option
  • Check your payments through the Colorado Child Support website.

Receiving Child Support Payments
Payments may be in the following ways:

  • Direct Deposit to a bank account
  • FSR Card

Contact the Family Support Registry: 1-800-374-6558 or 1-303-299-9123

Changes to Child Support

Is it time for a change?

The Colorado Child Support Program wants to help families by making sure that child support orders fit each family’s circumstances. If there have been changes in your life, your child support order may need to change too. Your child support order could change if one or more of the following has happened.

  • An increase or decrease in either party’s income
  • A party begins covering a child on health insurance
  • An increase or decrease in child care or uninsured medical expenses
  • A court order or court-approved change in the number of overnights either party has with the child.
  • A child reaches the legal age of emancipation for payment of child support

How is a Child Support Order Changed?

The Colorado Child Support Program uses a process called "Review and Adjustment" to modify child support orders. The process usually starts with a written request from either party.

How to Request a Review

An online form for requesting a review can be found on the Child Support Services.

You may also contact your Child Support technician for the needed forms. You will be required to provide the following:

  • Your full name
  • Your Social Security number
  • The reason you want your child support order reviewed
  • Information which shows why the change is needed, such as pay stubs
  • Child care receipts
  • Proof of health insurance
  • Parenting Time Order or Agreement
Review and Deadlines

Review and Adjustment Process

A party requests a review. A legal technician reviews the request. Each party provides income information. A child support guideline calculation is done. If a change is needed, an agreement can be signed. The agreement is filed with the court or, if there is no agreement, a Motion to Modify is filed with the court.

The Colorado Child Support Guidelines found at C.R.S. S 14-10-115 are used to determine if the child support order should change. When the review process is started both parties will receive a request to provide information by a certain date. The request may also ask the parties to go to the Child Support Services office on a specific date for a negotiation conference.

The law says that an order may change if there is at least a 10% difference from the current amount of child support ordered. You will have a specific amount of time to make a challenge there is a mathematical or factual error in the guideline calculation. If an agreement is not signed, a court hearing may be requested.

Deadlines Are Important

During the review and adjustment process, there will be deadlines that you must meet. If you are unable to meet a deadline, you must contact your Child Support legal technician.

Contact Us

Child Support Services Office
219 S Chestnut Street
Trinidad, CO 81082
Fax: 719-846-4269
Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


Child Support Program Manager
Valerie Eklund
Email: valerie.eklund@state.co.us