APPLYING FOR LEAP

IMPORTANT INFORMATION—PLEASE READ BEFORE APPLYING!

Do you need help completing the LEAP application, have questions about how to apply or where to send your application?
For answers to these and any other questions call HEAT HELP at 1-866-432-8435.

LEAP is designed to assist low-income households with paying their winter home
heating costs but is not intended to pay the entire cost of home heating or utility
usage. LEAP benefits are available to all eligible persons/households without regard
to race, color, sex, age, handicap, national origin, political or religious beliefs.

LEAP cannot assist or provide a benefit for any type of portable heating systems.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS your application is received, the sooner it will be processed,
—YOU MAY QUALFY FOR LEAP IF: - and-a decision on your application can-be made. ——

* You pay home heating costs to an energy provider, fuel ] 1 have answered all questions in all sections on

dealer, or as part of your rent. my application.
* You are a permanent legal resident of the United States [ 1 have enclosed a readable copy of the applicant's valid

and Colorado or you have household members that are (Photo) Identification.

U.S. citizens.

[ 1 have included social security numbers and birth dates

* You provide proof of lawful presence in the U.S. for ALL household members.
* Your maximum family household income falls within the 1 1 have completed and signed the affidavit.

guidelines given below. “Household” means people who

live with you and fer whom you are financially responsible. [ 1 have attached proof (copies of pay stubs, award lefters,

loans, etc.) for all income received by my household

last month.
MONTHLY GROSS INCOME

HOUSEHOLD SIZE .
‘ 60% OF STATE MEDIAN INCOME [ | have attached a copy of my most recent heating

1 $2,619 (not lighting) bill showing company name, address,

2 $ 3,425 and account numbers.

3 $ 4,231 [ 1 have attached a copy of my most recent rent receipt

- (if heating costs are included in rent). The rent receipt

4 $ 5038 ~ must clearly show heat is included.

5 $ 5,844 1 1 have attached receipts for all expenses claimed on my

6 $ 6,650 profit and loss statement for selfemployment income.

$ 6,801 [ 1 have signed my application.

8 $ 6,952 VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE.

EACH ADDITIONAL PERSON § 151 State law requires applicants for LEAP to:
* Provide a valid ID in accordance with Colorado

REVIEW YOUR APPLICATION BEFORE Deparfmenf of Revenue RUIGS

YOU TURN IT IN.

Make sure you've answered all the questions and have
attached all the requested information. Your attention to detail
now helps us process your application. If your application is
not complefe, we cannot process your request. The sooner

* Sign the affidavit on page 3 of the LEAP application
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APPLYING FOR LEAP

WHAT TO DO IF YOUR HOUSEHOLD IS IN
AN EMERGENCY (Service disconnected; about fo be

disconnected, out of propane; about to run out of propane)

If you are in an emergency your application will be processed
expeditiously. Please follow these instructions:

1. Complete your LEAP application and be sure to answer all
questions in Section 7 pertaining fo your emergency and
provide a copy of your disconnect notice, if applicable.

2. Call HEAT HELP at 1-866-432-8435 for instructions on how
to quickly submit your application and supporting
documents to your county LEAP office and/or if you need
assistance complefing your application.

CONTINUE PAYING YOUR HEAT BILL,
AS LEAP ASSISTANCE WILL NOT PAY
FOR YOUR ENTIRE HEAT BILL.

Do not wait for help from LEAP. Our process takes fime, so
you must keep your account current by making a payment
towards your heat bill on time. If you apply for LEAP and
receive a shutoff notice before you know the outcome of your
application, or you have your heating service disconnected,
notify your county department of human services immediately.
Remember, simply filling out this application does not mean
that you can ignore your current bills and notices from your

energy company.

YOUR PARTICIPATION IN OTHER
GOVERNMENT PROGRAMS WILL NOT
BE AFFECTED IF YOU APPLY FOR LEAP.

No other government program will cut or limit your
participation in that program. This includes Medicare,
Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Colorado Works/TANF,
Food Assistance, Old Age Pension (OAP), and Aid fo Needy
Disabled (AND)/Aid to the Blind (AB).

YOU CAN RECEIVE ONLY ONE LEAP
BENEFIT PER HEAT SEASON.

The heat season runs from November 1* through April 30",
Although your LEAP assistance may be split info two (2)
separate payments, any benefit you receive during a heat
season will be the only one for that year—plan accordingly.

IF YOU RECEIVE SOCIAL SECURITY INCOME PLEASE
SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION BEFORE JAN. 1, 2021
BECAUSE YOUR LEAP ELIGIBILITY MAY BE AFFECTED BY
THE ANNUAL COST OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT (COLA).

Appeal Rights—You have a right to appeal, if your
application is not processed within the fimelines set forth by
the Colorado Department of Human Services. If the
county/contractor office does not process your application
within 30 days from the date of receipt for a regular
application and 14 days from the date of receipt for an
emergency application, please contact the State LEAP Office
at 303-861-0269 to request a conference.

ADDITIONAL LEAP ASSISTANCE

Crisis Intervention Program (CIP)

If you are eligible for LEAP, you may qualify for emergency
help such as repair or replacement of your primary heating
system. If you have this type of emergency you must contact
1-855-4MYHEAT (1-855-469-4328).

WEATHERIZATION

You may also qualify for free weatherization services that will
improve your home through the Colorado Energy Office
Weatherization Program. Weatherization will reduce your
home energy usage, help you save money, and keep your
home safer and more comfortable year round. For more
information please call 303-866-2100. 44,

COLORADO PROPERTY TAX/RENT/HEAT
REBATE PROGRAM

Colorado also offers a rebate of property tax, rent, and heat
expenses fo low-income seniors and individuals with
disabilities. Please visit the Colorado Department of
Revenue's website at https://www.colorado.gov/tax/
pte-eligibility for more information and the rebate
application booklet or call 303-238-7378, Press 2.

WOULD YOU LIKE TO KNOW THE STATUS
OF YOUR LEAP APPLICATION?

To inquire about the status of your
LEAP application, please call HEAT HELP
at 1-866-432-8435.
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